New Leaders Elected to National AIA Board of Directors


WASHINGTON – June 15, 2022 – Three new leaders have been elected to the American Institute of Architects’ (AIA) Board of Directors.

AIA delegates elected Kimberly N. Dowdell, AIA, as the 2023 First Vice President/2024 President-elect; Britt Lindberg, FAIA, as the 2023–2024 Secretary; and Illya Azaroff, FAIA, the 2023-2025 At-large Director. View full announcement on AIA’s website.

Kimberly N. Dowdell, AIA, NOMAC, elected 2023 First Vice President/2024 President-elect

Dowdell has had a myriad of volunteer roles at the AIA. She participated on the Equity and the Future of Architecture Committee from 2019-2020, the New Urban Agenda Task Force from 2019-2021, the AIA New York Nominating Committee in 2021, the AIA Chicago EVP Search Committee in 2021, and was a Young Architects Award Recipient in 2020.  

Dowdell also served as the 2019-2020 president of the National Organization of Minority Architects (NOMA). She has been an AIA member since 2007. Dowdell graduated from Cornell University with a Bachelor of Architecture in 2006 and received a Master of Public Administration from Harvard University in 2015. She is currently Marketing Principal at HOK Architects.  

Britt Lindberg, FAIA, elected 2023-2024 Secretary 

Lindberg, a Technical Director at Gensler, is currently an AIA Board At-large Director. She served as President of AIA California in 2018 and was on the Board of Directors from 2013-2018.   

Lindberg received a Bachelor of Chemistry from Cornell University and a Masters in Architecture from UC Berkeley. 

Illya Azaroff, FAIA, elected 2023-2025 At-large Director

Azaroff, Associate professor at New York City College of Technology (CUNY) and Founding Principal of +LAB architect PLLC, has a long history of volunteering with AIA, including serving as the 2021 President of AIA New York State.  

Azaroff received a Bachelor of Geography from the University of Nebraska and a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Pratt Institute. 

Visit AIA’s website to learn more about AIA leadership.