A’22 Conference on Architecture Host Chapter Lounge Team Selected


As the host chapter of the A'22 AIA Conference on Architecture, AIA Chicago tasked a member firm or team (of individuals or firms) to design the host lounge for the A’22 Conference on Architecture. AIA Chicago is pleased to announce the collaborative team from bKL Architecture has been selected by the jury.

The jury, comprised of the AIA Chicago Board of Directors Executive Committee, AIA Chicago A'22 Steering Committee, and AIA Chicago A'22 Lounge and Sponsorship Committees, commended the group for their commitment to an inclusive and equitable team and access to collaborators. Additionally, the jury saw a lot of opportunity to share Chicago and Chicago architecture through the graphic concept.

bKL's approach "seeks to reconnect, recharge and renew our community with a lounge space that reflects the tenets of AIA National’s Strategic Goals through a Local Chicago Lens."

The full team is: 

  • Danielle Tillman, AIA, NOMA - Managing Principal
  • Lori Day, AIA, LEED AP - Director, Education Practice Leader
  • Anne Karlovitz - Associate Director, Graphic Designer
  • Ann Erskine, AIA, NCARB - Design Architect
  • John Kolb, IIDA, LEED AP - Director of Interiors
  • Kim Kapustka - Associate, Interiors Business Development Lead
  • Jamia Smith - Architectural Designer
  • Mike Chang - Architectural Designer
  • Inigo Unceta-Barrenechea - Student from Escola Tècnica Superior d’Arquitectura de Barcelona, IIT
  • Carla Archs Marti - Student from Escola Tècnica Superior d’Arquitectura de Barcelona, IIT
  • Studio J9 (WBE, WMBE-Certified) - Jeannine Colaco, Owner & Design Director
  • MillerKnoll - Furniture
  • Office Revolution - Furniture

The 2,000 sf host lounge will be located on the convention floor and is envisioned to be a place of respite, gathering, and networking. The lounge is a space to showcase and promote various local firms, projects, concepts, and ideas that reflect the architecture of our city.

To view the full proposal, CLICK HERE.