2016 Professional Excellence Awards Announced



AIA Chicago is thrilled to announce the 2016 winners of its Professional Excellence and Distinguished Service Awards! These individuals will be recognized and celebrated at the Annual Meeting & Holiday Party, taking place December 7 at the Museum of Broadcast Communications. The party is open to the public, and tickets can be purchased here.

Dubin Family Young Architect Award
Vladimir Radutny, AIA

Jurors were impressed with Radutny's scope of work that has garnered multiple awards from AIA Chicago and beyond. 

2016 Firm of the Year Award
Wheeler Kearns Architects

The jury called Wheeler Kearns Architects, "a legacy firm" for their diverse body of work that has, throughout almost 30 years, embodied principles of design excellence.

Distinguished Service Award:
Since 1955, the Board of Directors of AIA Chicago has recognized individuals and organizations who have given outstanding service to the Chicago architectural community as a whole, including service to the profession, public service, and education.

This award is not necessarily presented every year. Individuals, associations, AIA Chicago members, and members of the Chicago community at large are eligible for this award. Past honorees have included architects, craftspersons, educators, authors, journalists, and organizations of various types.

The 2016 recipients are:

  • Jennifer Masengarb, Director of Research & Interpretation at the Chicago Architecture Foundation
  • The Illinois Chapter of the National Organization of Minority Architects (I-NOMA)
  • Arquitectos Chicago

AIA Chicago will also recognize the 2016 winners of the Student Awards in Architecture. Read more about those projects here.