Wrigley Building

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

SPECIAL RECOGNITION

The Wrigley Building, designed by Graham, Anderson, Probst & White, is one of Chicago's most recognized architectural icons, dating to the 1920s. Following its sale in 2011, new ownership sought to renovate the property, retaining the building's name and restoring its historic integrity while positioning it to serve a new mix of tenants.

One significant effort was the removal of the screen wall between the two towers at ground level. The 1920 plan for the building had anticipated an upper-level street that would run between the towers. Although this street was never built, the removal of the glazed screen and the 1950s connecting walkways accomplished the 1920s vision of creating an open passage and plaza.

Work on the plaza itself was extensive. The entire 1950s-era plaza was demolished and rebuilt, defining a distinguished, large open space that presents an inviting outdoor amenity and caters to prospective retailers and restaurants.

Inside the towers, major public areas were also renovated. The building lobby ceilings were removed and replaced with modern interpretations of the original designs. On the upper floors, work involved replacing over 2,000 windows, creating a fully sprinklered building, upgrading all mechanical systems, and renovating all bathrooms and public corridors.



Architect of record

Michael Kaufman
Goettsch Partners
224 South Michigan Avenue, Floor 17
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-356-0600
Fax: 312-356-0601
mkaufman@gpchicago.com

General contractor

Jeff Geier
Power Construction Company, LLC
2360 Palmer Drive
Schaumburg, IL 60173, USA
Phone: 847-214-6411
jgeier@pcec.net

Consultant 1

Larry Dykstra
Environmental Systems Design, Inc. (ESD)
175 West Jackson Blvd., Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-456-2367
ldykstra@esdglobal.com

Consultant 2

Homa Ghaemi
Klein and Hoffman, Inc.
150 South Wacker Drive, Suite 1900
Chicago, IL 60606, USA
Phone: 312-251-1934
hghaemi@kleinandhoffman.com

Consultant 3

Joshua Summers
Building Technology Consultants, PC (BTC)
1845 East Rand Road, Suite L-100
Arlington Heights, IL 60004, USA
Phone: 847-788-8880 X1
jsummers@btcpc.com

Consultant 4

Jim Hauck
Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. (WJE)
10 South LaSalle Street, Suite 2600
Chicago, IL 60603, USA
Phone: 312-372-0555
jhauck@wje.com

Consultant 5

Helee Hillman
Goby LLC
211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1130
Chicago, IL 60606, USA
Phone: 312-242-1726
hhillman@gobyllc.com

Consultant 6

Joe Donnelly
Donnelly & Associates, Inc.
1807 Glenview Road, Suite 207
Glenview, IL 60025, USA
Phone: 847-729-7911
jpdpe@comcast.net

Consultant 7

Allen Johnson
MacRostie Historic Advisors LLC
53 West Jackson Blvd., Suite 1323
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-878-1246
ajohnson@mac-ha.com

Photographer

Jon Miller
Hedrich Blessing Photographers
400 North Peoria Street
Chicago, IL 60642, USA
Phone: 312-491-1101
Fax: 312-491-1112
jon@hedrichblessing.com