William Jones College Preparatory High School

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

This public high school is located in downtown Chicago. The interior of this seven-story school is dispersed vertically to maximize interaction and eliminate travel time between classes. Classroom houses are located at the center of the school on levels 4 and 5 to provide optimal proximity to shared curriculum spaces above and below.

Exterior and interior gathering spaces are carved out of the rectilinear volume of this urban school as focal points within the functional volumes and to frame views and engage the city.

A multi-story lobby at grade provides a central gathering space for the school, which is on axis with a street that leads to a lakeside park. An auditorium and administrative offices are open to this space. Upper levels of this space connect to the library and cafeteria.

Each academic house has a smaller central gathering space punctuated by a sculptural art room. Two day-lit double-flow stairs provide the main vertical connective artery for the school while framing views of the city.



Architect of record

Ralph Johnson
Perkins + Will
330 N. Wabash Avenue, Suite 3600
Chicago, IL 60611, United States
Phone: 312-755-0770
ralph.johnson@perkinswill.com

Associate architect

Yves Jeanty
The Architects Enterprise, Ltd.
230 W. Monroe St.
Chicago, IL 60606, United States
Phone: 312-424-0330
yjeanty@taeltd.com

General contractor

Jeffrey Pezza
Walsh Construction
929 W. Adams St.
Chicago, IL 60607, United States
Phone: 312-563-5929
jpezza@walshgroup.com

Consultant 1

Ken Panucci
Primera Engineers
100 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 700
Chicago, IL 60606, United States
Phone: 312-242-6352
kpanucci@primerachicago.com

Consultant 2

Robert Halvorson
Halvorson & Partners
1115 N. Kenilworth Ave.
Oak Park, IL 60302, United States
Phone: 312-274-2402
rhalvorson@halvorsonandpartners.com

Consultant 3

Karen Steingraber
Terra Engineering
225 West Ohio, 4th Floor
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 312-467-0123
ksteingraber@terraengineering.com

Consultant 4

Ernest Wong
Site Design Group
888 S. Michigan Ave., #1000
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 312-427-7240
ksteingraber@terraengineering.com

Consultant 5

Richard Talaske
Talaske
1033 South Boulevard
Oak Park, IL 60302, United States
Phone: 708-524-2800
rick@talaske.com

Photographer

James Steinkamp
Steinkamp Photography
923 Oakwood Terrace
Hinsdale, IL 60521, United States
Phone: 312-735-5333
james@steinkampphoto.com