Wadsworth High School + Wadsworth Community Center

Wadsworth, Ohio / United States of America

Wadsworth City Schools (WCS) engaged the architectural team (Team) to provide a $2M high school renovation. Through detailed programming and planning, WCS and the Team determined more funds, programs and services for the entire community could be provided through seeking state educational resources and forming local collaborative partnerships with public and private organizations.

The resulting $93M Wadsworth High School + Wadsworth Community Center includes a LEED Gold Certified 440,000 sf building / 98ac shared-use campus that has become the new community hub and model for public-private partnerships in Ohio.

The 370,000 sf Wadsworth High School serves Grades 9-12 with integrated smart technology, 21st century educational delivery & career technical training.

The 70,000 sf Wadsworth Community Center includes the YMCA/City of Wadsworth Recreation Center, Soprema Senior Center & Café, Wadsworth Cable Television Studio + Station Office, Wadsworth Public Library Branch, and the Summa Wadsworth-Rittman Hospital Physicians' Offices, Radiology Lab and Physical Therapy.

The Team programmed and designed 80,000 sf for collaborative partner shared use, including arts, fitness/recreation and classroom spaces.

The design includes significant daylight, curtain wall details at entries, geothermal system, polished concrete and exposed building materials. Brick, limestone, terrazzo and local plant materials blend with the traditional community aesthetic.



Architect of record

Eric Risinger
Risinger + Associates
1032 West Fulton Market, Suite 201
Chicago, IL 60614, USA
Phone: 312-491-1900
erisinger@risingerassociates.com

General contractor

Robert Hart
Resource International / Turner Construction Company
6350 Presidential Gateway
Columbus, OH 44115, USA
Phone: 216-522-1180
roberth@resourceinternational.com

Consultant 1

Josh Dortzbach
Forefront Structural Engineers
228 S Wabash Ave, Suite 300
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-376-1140
jdortzbach@forefrontstructural.com

Consultant 2

Michael Thorson
Thorson Baker & Associates, Inc.
3030 West Streetsboro Road
Richfield, OH 44286, USA
Phone: 330-659-6688
mthorson@thorsonbaker.com

Consultant 3

Sachin Anand
dbHMS
303 W. Erie St, Suite 510
Chicago, IL 60654, USA
Phone: 312-915-0557
sanand@dbhsm.com

Consultant 4

David Lewis
Lewis Land Professionals
8691 Wadsworth Road
Wadsworth, OH 44281, USA
Phone: 330-335-8232
dlewis@landprosinc.com

Consultant 5

Bill Conner
Bill Conner Associates
637 N Marion St
Oak Park, IL 60302, USA
Phone: 708-437-0505
bill@bcaworld.com

Consultant 6

Carl Geigold
Threshold Acoustics
53 W Jackson Blvd, Suite 815
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-386-1400
cgiegold@thresholdacoustics.com

Consultant 7

Edward Purmann
EDGE Associates, Inc.
220 E. Lake Street
Addison, IL 60101, USA
Phone: 630-279-2462
epurmann@edgeassociates.net

Consultant 8

Peter Hugh
Peter Hugh Lighting
115 S Marion Street
Oak Park, IL 60302, USA
Phone: 708-445-0995
peter@hughlightingdesign.com

Consultant 9

Renee Doktorczyk
ArchiTech Consulting, Inc.
111 East Bussee Ave, Suite 301
Mt. Prospect, IL 60056, USA
Phone: 224-345-3450
rdoktorczyk@architechspec.com

Photographer

Jim Maguire
Maquire Photo
875 Moe Drive, Suite B-23
Akron, OH 44310, USA
Phone: 330-630-9050
jim@maguirephoto.com