United States Federal Building and Courthouse

Tuscaloosa, Alabama / United States of America

The Tuscaloosa Federal Building and Courthouse is a 127,000 sf facility housing a diverse range of federal tenants while serving the needs for enhanced security, circulation, and infrastructure required by the US District and Bankruptcy Courts components. The building accommodates a wide array of program elements in a manner which expresses the specific cultural legacy and aspirations of the region through carefully considered planning, choice of building systems and technologies, studied expression of architectural vocabulary and integration of an artistic program designed to expand the building's role as a shared cultural resource for the citizens of Tuscaloosa. It speaks to the region's past and future, incorporating memory and innovation in a public landmark which represents both the timely and enduring qualities of a significant public institution.

The building sits at the center of its site within prescribed secure setbacks, raised slightly above ground level on a landscaped platform whose low retaining walls allow it to satisfy perimeter security requirements while maintaining an open appearance. The internal components are organized around an enclosed central atrium which runs along the long axis of the building. This space serves as the primary circulation spine and provides access to the Courtrooms and Federal agencies.



Architect of record

Aric Lasher
HBRA Architects, Inc
372 W. Ontario Street, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 3125273200
alasher@hbra-arch.com

General contractor

Sam Peng
BE & K Building Group
Ashford Center North, Suite 350
Atlanta, GA 30338, United States
Phone: 6785013504
sam.peng@kbr.com

Consultant 1

Keith Owens
MBA Structural Engineers, Inc.
300 20th Street North, Suite 100
Birmingham, AL 35203, United States
Phone: 2053236385
kowens@mbasei.com

Consultant 2

Joey Roach
MW/Davis Dumas & Associates, Inc.
2720 3rd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35233, United States
Phone: 2052520246
jroach@mwdda.com

Consultant 3

Chris Harkins
LBYD, Inc.
716 South 30th Street
Birmingham, AL 35233, United States
Phone: 2054880201
charkins@lbyd.com

Consultant 4

Ryan Collins
Nimrod Long & Associates
2213 Morris Avenue, Suite 100
Birmingham, AL 35203, United States
Phone: 2053236072
rcollins@nimrodlong.com

Consultant 5

Steve Marks
Faithful & Gould
The Biltmore, 817 W. Peachtree Street NW, Suite 500
Atlanta, GA 30308, United States
Phone: 4048743638
steve.marks@fgould.com

Consultant 6

H. Jay Enck
CxGBS
3075 Breckenridge Blvd., Suite 480
Duluth, GA 30096, United States
Phone: 7708316760
hjenck@cxgbs.com

Consultant 7

John Wood
Claude R. Engle Lighting Consultant
2 Wisconsin Circle, Suite 860
Chevy Chase, MD 20815, United States
Phone: 3016545502
john@crengle.com

Consultant 8

Fira 
Evans Limestone Company
P.O. Box 714, 1201 Limestone Drive
Bedford, IN 47421, United States
Phone: 8122799744
fira@evanslimestone.com

Consultant 9

Dave Jollay
Jollay Masonry, Inc.
116 Locust Street
Avondale Estates, GA 30002, United States
Phone: 4042945393
dave@jollaymasonry.com

Consultant 10

Kent Bloomer
Kent Bloomer Studio
319 Peck Street
New Haven, CT 06513, United States
Phone: 2035627559
info@bloomerstudio.com