The Goddess & Grocer - O’Hare Terminal 5

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

Completed in March 2014 on the ticketing concourse of O'Hare's International Terminal 5, The Goddess & Grocer is a locally-owned artisanal deli developed in partnership with Chicago's Metropolis Coffee Company. The space is prominently located prior to security on a new slab infill above the Airport Transit System train platform.

The compact design of this space maximizes 1,600 square feet to elegantly merchandise numerous food and beverage options while still accommodating seating for 32 patrons. This open concept combines materials such as recycled wood, with refined color palette. The living wall features climbing plants and common herbs, providing a whimsical and organic touch, while the high glass atrium above provides plenty of daylight.

A major design challenge was met through the effective visual activation of the atrium space while meeting the health code requirements for a canopy over the serving line. Cantilevered translucent panels and suspended textile "clouds" provide visual interest and take advantage of the colorful atrium accent lighting at night. The combined effect results in a pre-departure oasis, serving the international traveler in a lively and airy space.



Architect of record

George Sarfatty
Sarfatty Associates, Ltd
3201 Old Glenview Rd, Suite 200
Wilmette, IL 60091, USA
Phone: 847-920-1100
Fax: 847-920-1101
gsarfatty@sarfatty.com

Associate architect

Ian Guenther
Sarfatty Associates, Ltd.
3201 Old Glenview Rd, Suite 200
Wilmette, IL 60091, USA
Phone: 847-906-5232
iguenther@sarfatty.com

General contractor

Bob Arnolde
Walter Daniels Construction Co, Inc
6316 N. Northwest Hwy.
Chicago, IL 60631, USA
Phone: 773-467-2963
barnolde@walterdaniels.com

Consultant 1

Sheetal Patel
RTM & Associates
3 Executive Court, Unit 4
South Barrington, IL 60010, USA
Phone: 847-713-1021
sheetal.patel@rtmassociates.com

Photographer

Marshal Reece
Sarfatty Associates, Ltd.
3201 Old Glenview Rd, Suite 200
Wilmette, IL 60091, USA
Phone: 847-920-1100
mreece@sarfatty.com

Photographer 2

Sara Bruketta
Sarfatty Associates, Ltd
3201 Old Glenview Rd, Suite 200
Wilmette, IL 60091, USA
Phone: 847-920-1100
sbruketta@sarfatty.com