SwedishAmerican Regional Cancer Center

Rockford, Illinois / United States of America

The SwedishAmerican Regional Cancer Center offers state-of-the-art treatment and support services. The 68,000 SF two-story outpatient facility incorporates comprehensive cancer treatment services including Medical Oncology, Pharmacy, Laboratory, Radiation Therapy, Medical Imaging, Holistic Health, Administration, and Patient Education in a building designed to be supportive of the patient's path to wellness. The 25 acre site features abundant accessible spaces for patients, families, and staff including walking paths, a healing garden, and water elements.

The building is divided into three main elements. The glass-enclosed entry feeds into a two-story public lobby with an emphasis on natural light and textures. Flanking one side of the entry is the clinical building defined by rectilinear masonry wall with punch openings. The opposing building is transitioned by a massive stone wall serving as an anchor and transition for the building from the west to the east, providing a flowing façade of glass. Materials defining the building exterior represent traditional materials of brick and stone mixed with modern elements of metal and glass.

Internally, the environments are defined by warm tones of wood and accents of glass. Patients and families experience the comfortable spaces during their visit to ease their anxiety and promote wellness.



Architect of record

Daniel Saavedra
Saavedra Gehlhausen Architects
504 N. Church
Rockford, IL 61103, USA
Phone: 815-963-9392
daniel.saavedra@sgadesign.com

Associate architect

Michael Vinci
Eckenhoff Saunders Architects
700 S. Clinton St., Suite 200
Chicago, IL 60607, United States
Phone: 312-786-1204
mvinci@esa-inc.com

General contractor

Brent Johnson
Ringland-Johnson Construction
1725 Huntwood Dr.
Cherry Valley, IL 61016, USA
Phone: 815-332-8600
bjohnson@ringland.com

Consultant 1

Scott Sanders
Sanders Design Group
333 E. State Street
Rockford, IL 61104, USA
Phone: 815-969-9917
sandersdesigngroup@yahoo.com

Consultant 2

Jeff Trieber
Henneman Engineering, Inc.
200 S. Wacker Dr., Suite 108
Chicago, IL 60606, USA
Phone: 312-583-1400
jtrieber@henneman.com

Consultant 3

Jeff Linkenheld
Arc Design Resources
5291 Zenith Parkway
Loves Park, IL 61111, USA
Phone: 815-484-4300
jlinkenheld@arcdesign.com

Consultant 4

Terry Barnett
Hanson Professional Services
6775 Fincham Dr
Rockford, IL 61108, USA
Phone: 815-398-4600
tbarnett@hanson-inc.com

Photographer

Anna Brahmstedt Akerlund
Nels Akerlund Photography
305 St. Louis Avenue
Rockford, IL 61104, USA
Phone: 815-395-0101
nels@nelsakerlund.com