Student Resources Center Facade Renewal

Glen Ellyn, Illinois / United States of America

The Student Resource Center (SRC) façade renewal dramatically transformed an ominous and aging exterior facade. Designers were to overhaul the outward image of the building, so much so that the appearance would be a new, technologically innovative facility. Additionally, the project was to continue the groundwork for College of DuPage's south campus renaissance.

Designed in 1983 by C.F. Murphy (Murphy/Jahn), the original façade was a curtain wall composed of weathering steel and dark tinted glass. Designers preserved the curtain wall skeleton and utilized its structural properties to support a new, custom-designed, energy efficient glass facade. The existing dark tinted glass was removed and replaced with a high-performing, highly-visible, light-transmitting glass.

As the bustling, functional intersection of the campus, the SRC houses such functions as a cafeteria, campus bookstore, the large student library, executive administration offices, computer labs, and continuing education programs. Today, the SRC's new glazing system provides a bright interior and offers improved thermal comfort during cold winter months. The exterior has become a flexible, technology-enriched face for the southern end of campus and a high-tech counterpart to its neighboring facilities. As stated by Dr. Robert Breuder, 'The SRC today appears designed as a signature 21st century education facility!'



Architect of record

Michael Lubbers, AIA LEED AP BD+C
Wight & Company
211 North Clinton Street, 300N
Chicago, IL 60661, USA
Phone: 312-261-5700
mlubbers@wightco.com

General contractor

Nathan Welch
Mortenson Construction
25 Northwest Point Blvd., Suite 100
Elk Grove Village, IL 60007, USA
Phone: 847-981-8600
Nathan.Welch@Mortenson.com

Consultant 1

Matthew Aquino, PE, SE
Wight & Company
2500 North Frontage Road
Darien, IL 60561, USA
Phone: 630-969-7000
maquino@wightco.com

Consultant 2

Sudesh Saraf, PE, LEED AP
Wight & Company
2500 North Frontage Road
Darien, IL 60561, USA
Phone: 630-969-7000
ssaraf@wightco.com

Consultant 3

Byron Wyns
Wight & Company
2500 North Frontage Road
Darien, IL 60561, USA
Phone: 630-969-7000
bwyns@wightco.com

Photographer

George Lambros
Lambros Photography, Inc.
2207 West Walton
Chicago, IL 60622, USA
Phone: 773-342-3500
george@lambrosphoto.com