Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital

Boston, Massachusetts / United States of America

This 132-bed rehabilitation hospital is located on a waterfront site in the former naval yard of Boston. 
The design builds upon the unique waterfront location to provide an indoor-outdoor rehabilitative environment that takes advantage of daylight, views, and waterside spaces to reinforce the mission of the hospital. Outdoor patient spaces include a therapy trail along the water's edge and a third-floor patient terrace off the therapy gym. Indoor spaces address the social, spiritual and physical needs of the patients and staff. Ground floor spaces such as meeting rooms and cafeteria provide a strong connection to the community and relate to a new landscaped extension of First Avenue. The therapy gyms and pool are located on the end of the three-story base to maximize daylight and views. The five-story bed tower, located above this base, contains multipurpose rooms and other gathering spaces to provide options for patients and staff. 
The building is clad in horizontal bands of metal and glass to recall the nautical infrastructure of the surroundings. The project's brownfield site has been remediated, and recycled wood and granite from the original seawall are part of the landscape. The project is certified LEED Gold.



Architect of record

Ralph Johnson
Perkins + Will
330 N Wabash Ave., Suite 3600
Chicago, IL 60611, United States
Phone: 312-755-0770
ralph.johnson@perkinswill.com

General contractor

Jim Lyons
Walsh Brothers Incorporated
210 Commercial Street
Boston, MA 02109, United States
Phone: 617-878-4881
jlyons@walshbrothers.com

Consultant 1

Sean Brice
MEP Engineer
525 Mill Street
Boston, MA 02738, United States
Phone: 866-261-7487
sbrice@thompson-consultants.com

Consultant 2

Ben Wild
McNamara/Salvia Inc.
160 Federal Street, 16th Fl.
Boston, MA 02110, United States
Phone: 617-737-0040
bwild@mcsal.com

Consultant 3

Mark Junghans
VHB/Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc
99 High Street, 10th floor
Boston, MA 02111, United States
Phone: 617-728-7777
mjunghans@vhb.com

Consultant 4

Lynn Wolff
Copley Wolff Design Group
160 Boylston Street, 3rd Fl.
Boston, MA 02116, United States
Phone: 617-654-9000
Fax: 617-654-9002
lwolff@copley-wolff.com

Consultant 5

Mark Haley
Haley & Aldrich
456 Medford Street, Suite 2200
Boston, MA 02129, United States
Phone: 617-886-7400
mhaley@haleyaldrich.com

Consultant 6

Matthew Herman
Buro Happold Consulting
100 Broadway
New York, NY 10005, United States
Phone: 212-334-2025
Fax: 212-334-5528
matthew.herman@burohappold.com

Photographer

James Steinkamp
Steinkamp Photography
923 Oakwood Terrace
Hinsdale, IL 60521, United States
Phone: 312-735-5333
james@steinkampphoto.com

Photographer 2

Anton Grassl
Esto Photographics
222 Valley Pl.
Mamaroneck, NY 10543, United States
Phone: 914-698-4060
info@esto.com