Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital

Boston, Massachusetts / United States of America

This 132-bed rehabilitation hospital is located on a waterfront side in the former naval yard of Boston. This facility is designed to promote a total rehabilitative environment through the synergy of the relationship of bed areas and common shared areas, creating a strong exterior/interior relationship to outdoor spaces, which have been designed as an integral part of the therapeutic process. 
The ground floor contains uses that are both community and hospital related, giving it a strong sense of connection to its surroundings. Key rehabilitation areas, such as physical therapy spaces and gymnasiums, as well as patient rooms, are designed to receive ample daylighting and water views. Hospitality-focused rooms accommodate the patient and family while the clinical functions are thoughtfully integrated into the space. Support systems such as interactive digital media, motorized patient lifts, bedside-controlled automatic shades and lighting promote a sense of adaptability in the patient's environment.



Architect of record

Ralph Johnson
Perkins + Will
330 N. Wabash Avenue, Suite 3600
Chicago, IL 60611, United States
Phone: 312-755-0770
Fax: 312-755-0775
ralph.johnson@perkinswill.com

General contractor

Jim Lyons
Walsh Brothers Incorporated
210 Commercial Street
Boston, MA 02109, United States
Phone: 617-878-4881
jlyons@walshbrothers.com

Consultant 1

Sean Brice
Thompson Consultants Inc.
525 Mill Street
Boston, MA 02738, United States
Phone: 866-261-7487
sbrice@thompson-consultants.com

Consultant 2

Ben Wild
McNamara/Salvia Inc.
160 Federal Street, 16th Fl.
Boston, MA 02110, United States
Phone: 617-737-0040
Fax: 617-737-0042
bwild@mcsal.com

Consultant 3

Mark Junghans
VHB/Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc
99 High Street, 10th floor
Boston, MA 02111, United States
Phone: 617-728-7777
mjunghans@vhb.com

Consultant 4

Lynn Wolff
Copley Wolff Design Group
160 Boylston Street, 3rd Fl.
Boston, MA 02116, United States
Phone: 617-654-9000
Fax: 617-654-9002
lwolff@copley-wolff.com

Consultant 5

Mark Haley
Haley & Aldrich
456 Medford Street, Suite 2200
Boston, MA 02129, United States
Phone: 617-886-7400
mhaley@haleyaldrich.com

Consultant 6

Matthew Herman
Buro Happold Consulting
100 Broadway
New York, NY 10005, United States
Phone: 212-334-2025
Fax: 212-334-5528
matthew.herman@burohappold.com

Photographer

James Steinkamp
Steinkamp Photography
923 Oakwood Terrace
Hinsdale, IL 60521, United States
Phone: 312-735-5333
james@steinkampphoto.com

Photographer 2

Anton Grassl
Esto Photographics
222 Valley Pl.
Mamaroneck, NY 10543, United States
Phone: 914-698-4060
info@esto.com