Sowwah Square

Abu Dhabi, N/A / United Arab Emirates

As designated by Abu Dhabi's 2030 urban framework plan, the five-building, 290,000-square-meter Sowwah Square complex defines the anchor for the new CBD. Comprising four office towers and the headquarters building for the Abu Dhabi Securities Exchange, the complex strives to create a signature image for downtown while also promoting a public presence and emphasizing sustainability.

The initial building program heights were relatively modest, and their combined footprint occupied a majority of the site. In order to provide a more distinguished skyline profile and relieve the streetscape, the buildings were raised 27 meters. The resulting design frames slender pairs of 31- and 37-story towers around a stock exchange building that sits on distinctive piers. At plaza level, the buildings sparingly touch the site, and indoor and outdoor spaces seamlessly blend to create a large, landscaped, pedestrian-friendly environment. In addition, the complex integrates a two-level, 33,000-square-meter high-end shopping center and structured parking for 5,000 cars.



Architect of record

James Goettsch
Goettsch Partners
224 South Michigan Avenue, Floor 17
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-356-0600
Fax: 312-356-0601
jgoettsch@gpchicago.com

General contractor

Daniel Dorville
Oger Abu Dhabi
PO Box 35656
Abu Dhabi, N/A N/A, United Arab Emirates
Phone: 97126815252
Fax: 97126813233
ddorville@ogeremirates.ae

Consultant 1

David Chambre
Oger International
Building H, Ground Floor, 98, Boulevard Victor Hugo
Clichy-sur-Seine, N/A 92110, France
Phone: 33158793819
Fax: 33140110181
none@none.com

Consultant 2

Dan Murphy
Environmental Systems Design, Inc.
175 West Jackson Boulevard, Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-372-1200
Fax: 312-372-1222
dmurphy@esdesign.com

Consultant 3

Robert Stadler
Thornton Tomasetti, Inc.
330 North Wabash Avenue, Suite 1500
Chicago, IL 60611, USA
Phone: 312-596-2000
Fax: 312-596-2001
rstadler@thorntontomasetti.com

Consultant 4

Sarah Graham
Integrated Environmental Solutions, Ltd.
Helix Building, Kelvin Campus , West of Scotland Science Park
Glasgow, N/A N/A, United Kingdom
Phone: 441419458500
Fax: 441419458501
sarah.graham@iesve.com

Consultant 5

Martha Schwartz
Martha Schwartz Partners, Ltd.
65-69 East Road
London, N/A N/A, United Kingdom
Phone: 442075497497
Fax: 442075200988
mail@marthaschwartz.com

Consultant 6

Steve Margulies
OneLux Studio, LLC
158 West 29th Street, 10th Floor
New York, NY 10011, USA
Phone: 212-201-5790
smargulies@oneluxstudio.com

Consultant 7

Tom Terhaar
Jenkins & Huntington, Inc.
5 Climax Road
Avon, CT 06001, USA
Phone: 860-677-5942
tterhaar@j-hi.com

Photographer

Lester Ali
Lester Ali Photography
8 Street Studios
Dubai, N/A N/A, United Arab Emirates
Phone: 97143307878
la@lesterali.com

Photographer 2

Michele Nastasi
Michele Nastasi Photography
via F. D'Ovidio 8
Milano, N/A 20131, Italy
Phone: 39331933315
Fax: 390249532853
studio@michelenastasi.com