Sowwah Square

Abu Dhabi, N/A / United Arab Emirates

Thermal Pillow Double Facade

Goettsch Partners has designed and delivered a unique double wall facade system for the 3 million square foot Sowwah Square development in Abu Dhabi UAE.

The double wall cavity is used as a building extract air pathway providing a thermal pillow effect which eliminates all possibility of re-radiated heat internal to the office areas.

Further mitigation of direct radiation and glare is resolved through the use of an operable and retractable active solar shade system within the ventilated cavity connected to the BMS which follows direct solar exposure.

By combining the "free cooling" provided by the office extract air pathway and active cavity blinds, the four tower project has realized a net energy load savings of over 7,000kwh per day.

The end result provides unequaled thermal comfort for office occupants during all times of the day with unparalleled and unobstructed views through floor to ceiling glass in the most environmentally challenging conditions.

Daylight harvesting is optimized providing further lighting load savings. Combined with solar sensors and smart lighting ballasts, office lighting during business hours is reduced to an absolute minimum.



Architect of record

James Goettsch
Goettsch Partners
224 South Michigan Avenue, Floor 17
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-356-0600
Fax: 312-356-0601
jgoettsch@gpchicago.com

General contractor

Daniel Dorville
Oger Abu Dhabi
PO Box 35656
Abu Dhabi, N/A N/A, United Arab Emirates
Phone: 97126815252
Fax: 97126813233
ddorville@ogeremirates.ae

Consultant 1

David Chambre
Oger International
Building H, Ground Floor, 98, Boulevard Victor Hugo
Clichy-sur-Seine, N/A 92110, France
Phone: 33158793819
Fax: 33140110181
none@none.com

Consultant 2

Dan Murphy
Environmental Systems Design, Inc.
175 West Jackson Boulevard, Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-372-1200
Fax: 312-372-1222
dmurphy@esdesign.com

Consultant 3

Robert Stadler
Thornton Tomasetti, Inc.
330 North Wabash Avenue, Suite 1500
Chicago, IL 60611, USA
Phone: 312-596-2000
Fax: 312-596-2001
rstadler@thorntontomasetti.com

Consultant 4

Sarah Graham
Integrated Environmental Solutions, Ltd.
Helix Building, Kelvin Campus , West of Scotland Science Park
Glasgow, N/A N/A, United Kingdom
Phone: 441419458500
Fax: 441419458501
sarah.graham@iesve.com

Consultant 5

Martha Schwartz
Martha Schwartz Partners, Ltd.
65-69 East Road
London, N/A N/A, United Kingdom
Phone: 442075497497
Fax: 442075200988
mail@marthaschwartz.com

Consultant 6

Steve Margulies
OneLux Studio, LLC
158 West 29th Street, 10th Floor
New York, NY 10011, USA
Phone: 212-201-5790
smargulies@oneluxstudio.com

Consultant 7

Tom Terhaar
Jenkins & Huntington, Inc.
5 Climax Road
Avon, CT 06001, USA
Phone: 860-677-5942
tterhaar@j-hi.com

Photographer

Lester Ali
Lester Ali Photography
8 Street Studios
Dubai, N/A N/A, United Arab Emirates
Phone: 97143307878
la@lesterali.com

Photographer 2

Michele Nastasi
Michele Nastasi Photography
via F. D'Ovidio 8
Milano, N/A 20131, Italy
Phone: 39331933315
Fax: 390249532853
studio@michelenastasi.com