Skokie Hospital Central Plant and Entry Canopy

Skokie, Illinois / United States of America

As part of NorthShore University HealthSystems renovation and expansion of Skokie Hospital, the new Central Plant modernizes and provides efficient 
capacity for the generation of steam, chilled water, and emergency power for the entire hospital campus. The plant structure will act as a buffer between a new outpatient drop off in the existing professional office building and an expanded hospital service dock to the south.

Architecturally, the plant is a companion piece to the soft edged POB to the north. Exterior glass areas balance night time light spillage towards the adjacent 
nursing home. Exterior precast concrete, and champagne aluminum screens unify the plant with the other campus architecture.



Architect of record

Walter Eckenhoff
Eckenhoff Saunders Architects
700 S. Clinton St., Suite 200
Chicago, IL 60607, United States
Phone: 3127861204
weckenhoff@esa-inc.com

General contractor

Jamie Hendricks
Power Construction
2360 Palmer Drive
Schaumburg, IL 60173, USA
Phone: 847-354-3040
jhendricks@pcec.net

Consultant 1

Roger Reckers
TGRWA
600 W. Van Buren St.
Chicago, IL 60607, USA
Phone: 312-341-1044
rreckers@tgrwa.com

Consultant 2

Jean Gibbons
Grumman/Butkus Associates
820 Davis St., Suite 300
Evanston, IL 60201, USA
Phone: 847-328-3555
Fax: 847-328-4550
jgibbons@grummanbutkus.com

Consultant 3

Roger Allen
Dickerson Engineering
8101 N. Milwaukee
Niles, IL 60714, USA
Phone: 847-966-0290
Fax: 847-966-0294
roger.allen@dei-pe.com

Consultant 4

Jason Doland
WC Doland Engineering
334 E. Colfax St., Suite C
Palatine, IL 60607, USA
Phone: 847-991-5088
jdoland@dolandengineering.com

Photographer

Mariusz Mizera
Mariusz Mizera Photography
6910 Manchester Drive
Plainfield, IL 60586, USA
Phone: 773-539-6701
mariusz@mizera.com