Ping Tom Memorial Park Fieldhouse

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

More than 50 years ago, construction of the Dan Ryan Expressway forced the demolition of Chinatown's original Ping Tom Memorial Park and Fieldhouse. Shortly thereafter, founder and chairman of the Ping Tom Memorial Park Advisory Council, Leonard M. Louie, made it his life's mission to rebuild this important community amenity. His vision became a reality in 2013 with the successful opening of the entirely new Ping Tom Memorial Park Fieldhouse.

Located on a parcel of land just east of the recently expanded park, the new fieldhouse reflects the spirit and character of the Chinatown community. The initial design placed the facility on the northwest corner of the site. However, the discovery of buried railroad tracks and shallow groundwater led to the decision to locate the facility slightly further south. The new fieldhouse serves as a hub for community residents to gather, socialize, and grow. The 30,000-square foot, single-story building is fully accessible and inviting to both children and adults. A six-lane pool, spacious locker rooms, a gymnasium, a fitness center, clubrooms, and a 3,200-square foot combination terrace/green roof overlooking the Chicago skyline are provided. Chinese characters expressing 'Community' are etched into large, red metal panels on the building's exterior.



Architect of record

James Mark, AIA, LEED AP
Wight & Company
211 North Clinton Street, 300N
Chicago, IL 60661, USA
Phone: 312-261-5700
jmark@wightco.com

General contractor

Ray Prokop, DBIA, LEED AP
Wight Construction
2500 North Frontage Road
Darien, IL 60561, USA
Phone: 630-969-7000
rprokop@wightco.com

Consultant 1

Carol Drucker
Drucker Zajdel Structural Engineers, Inc.
55 South Main Street, Suite 277
Naperville, IL 60540, USA
Phone: 630-305-5757
carol@dzse.com

Consultant 2

Matthew Aquino, PE, SE
Wight & Company
2500 North Frontage Road
Darien, IL 60561, USA
Phone: 630-969-7000
maquino@wightco.com

Consultant 3

Danny Cohen
Environmental Systems Design, Inc.
175 W. Jackson Blvd., Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-372-1200
dcohen@esdglobal.com

Consultant 4

Byron Wyns
Wight & Company
2500 North Frontage Road
Darien, IL 60561, USA
Phone: 630-969-7000
bwyns@wightco.com

Consultant 5

Ernie Wong
Site Design Group, LTD.
888 S. Michigan Avenue, Suite 1000
Chicago, IL 60605, USA
Phone: 312-427-7240
ecwong@site-design.com

Photographer

Allison Evans
Allison Evans Photography
1301 W. Fletcher, #211
Chicago, IL 60657
Phone: 847-452-1263
allison.enjoy@gmail.com

Photographer 2

James Steinkamp
Steinkamp Photography
923 Oakwood Terrace
Hinsdale, IL 60521, USA
Phone: 312-725-5333
James@SteinkampPhoto.com