NY5 Data Center

Secaucus, New Jersey / United States of America

The NY5 project, located in Secaucus, NJ is a 264,000 SF data center serving the New York metropolitan area.

The building is composed of three major components:

The single-story Colocation space, designed to be built out in phases, will house 6,600 computer equipment cabinets when complete. Each phase incorporates a grid of prefabricated tube steel frames that organizes the customer cages and supports the cable tray, lighting, security systems and the associated power distribution.

The electrical bar is designed to allow for modular construction and phasing. The two-story planning with an adjacent generator room minimizes expensive copper feeders between electrical components. Prefabricated electrical "blocks" are installed as skids, saving cost and time. The 37,000 SF three-story office and flex space provides for reception, access control, a customer lounge, conference rooms, as well as facility management and customer offices.

The building, LEED Silver Certified, is finished with textured insulated raw precast concrete panels wrapping the data halls. The office bar is finished with integrally colored textured precast panels with glazing at individual offices and conference rooms and a full height curtain wall at the feature stair. A red accent wall emphasizes the entry and complements the interior finish palette.



Architect of record

Neil Sheehan
Sheehan Partners, ltd.
30 West Monroe Street, Suite 510
Chicago, IL 60603, USA
Phone: 3126332900
neil@sp-arch.com

General contractor

Geoff Arend
J.T Magen & Company, Inc.
44 West 28th Street,, 11th Floor
New York, NY 10001, USA
Phone: 212-790-4200
garend@jtmagen.com

Consultant 1

Rick Madzar
HF Lenz Company
1407 Scalp Avenue
Johnstown, PA 15904, USA
Phone: 814-269-9300
rmadzar@hflenz.com

Consultant 2

Kurt Lindorfer
Paradigm Structural Engineers, Inc.
450 Sansome Street, Fifth Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111, USA
Phone: 415-362-8944
klindorfer@paradigmse.com

Consultant 3

Richard Burrow
Langan
River Drive Center 1
Elmwood Park, NJ 07407, USA
Phone: 201-794-6900
rburrow@langan.com

Photographer

Bilyana Dimitrova
Bilyana Dimitrova Photography
63 Sherman Place, Suite E3
Jersey City, NJ 07307, USA
Phone: 347-693-4314
bilyana@bdphotography.com