Niles North High School Aquatics Center

Skokie, Illinois / United States of America

An Aquatics Center includes a new competition "cold" pool, a renovated community "warm" pool, a public connecting corridor, and locker room renovations.

The curved form draws attention to the expansion. The highest point of the curve marks the balcony, which holds 500 spectators. Athletes congregate at the pool deck, the low point of the curve. The roof extends past the south wall to form a canopy over the sidewalk and shade south clerestory glass.

The concourse addition between pools has a meeting area, coaches' offices with views to both pools, storage, and deck space. The glass between pools creates a visual connection and a curved ceiling element ties both pools together.

Extensive use of glass on the north façade draws attention to the addition and the program, while the translucent glass of the east and west façades transforms the facility into a glowing beacon.

The center is slated to become the first facility of its kind in Illinois to achieve LEED for Schools Gold certification. The design decreases energy use by 44% compared to a typical aquatics center, while water-efficient systems reduce water use by 42%.



Architect of record

Michael Maloney
Legat Architects, Inc.
651 W. Washington Blvd., Suite One
Chicago, IL 60661, USA
Phone: 224.944.9049
Fax: 312.258.1555
mmaloney@legat.com

General contractor

Tom Carrano
IHC Construction Companies LLC
1500 Executive Road
Elgin, IL 60123, USA
Phone: 847.742.1516
Fax: 847.742.6610
tcarrano@ihcconstruction.com

Consultant 1

Thomas Rychlik
Gewalt Hamilton
850 Forest Edge Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061, USA
Phone: 847.478.9700
Fax: 847.478.9701
trychlik@gha-engineers.com

Consultant 2

Alyssa Fee
KJWW Engineering Consultants
1100 Warrenville Road, Suite 400W
Naperville, IL 60563, USA
Phone: 630.527.2320
Fax: 630.527.2321
feeam@kjww.com

Consultant 3

Paul Connor
AMSCO Engineering, Inc.
5115 Belmont Road, Suite A
Downers Grove, IL 60515, USA
Phone: 630.515.1555
pconnor@amscoengineering.com

Consultant 4

John Thomson
Hansen Palmer Associates, Ltd
517 West Main Street
West Dundee, IL 60118, USA
Phone: 847.836.9818
john@hansenpalmer.com

Consultant 5

Matt Freeby
Water Technology, Inc.
100 Park Avenue
Beaver Dam, WI 53916, USA
Phone: 800.538.8207
Fax: 920.887.7999
mfreeby@watertechnologyinc.com

Consultant 6

Scott Bellner
dbHMS
303 West Erie Street, #510
Chicago, IL 60654, USA
Phone: 312.915.0557
sbellner@dbhms.com

Photographer

Dave Emery
Emery Photography, Inc.
914 Mohawk Street
Columbus, OH 43206, USA
Phone: 614.444.0702
Fax: 614. 444.1681
dave@emeryphotography.com