Mid-North Residence

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

This single family residence is located within an historic district in Chicago's Lincoln Park neighborhood. The property consists of a three-story common brick stable (c. 1873) and a one-story tapestry brick commercial building (c. 1913). The complex began as a dairy and served as a sculptor's studio for the last fifty years prior to renovation. Focused around a new interior courtyard, the repurposed buildings create a light filled contemporary residence, unnoticed from the street and spaciously elegant within. The living, dining and kitchen spaces open directly to the courtyard, while bedrooms on the upper levels share three terraces.

The exterior envelope was carefully restored in accordance with local landmark guidelines, utilizing three types of brick and new double-hung windows along the street façade. A limited palette of materials, including limestone and brick masonry, zinc sheet metal, Sapele windows and doors and terrazzo flooring, was deployed to create an elegant yet livable home. Sustainable strategies were passive rather than active: the reuse of an existing building in a dense neighborhood, the daylight courtyard, a highly insulated building envelope, and advanced lighting and MEP systems all minimize the project's energy consumption.



Architect of record

Philip Hamp
Vinci | Hamp Architects, Inc.
1147 West Ohio Street, 6th Floor
Chicago, IL 60642, usa
Phone: 3127337744
phamp@vinci-hamp.com

General contractor

Jeff Berry
Goldberg General Contracting
3510 N. Elston Ave
Chicago, IL 60618, USA
Phone: 773-279-9600
jberry@ggcinc.net

Consultant 1

Jim Kirk
Enspect, Inc.
8300 Mississippi Street
Merrillville, IN 46410, USA
Phone: 219-736-6002
jkirk@enspectinc.com

Consultant 2

Thomas Paterson
Lux Populi
Plaza San Jacinto 8 int F, San Angel, CP 01000
Mexico, DF 01000, Mexico
Phone: 310-601-8180
thomas@luxpopuli.com

Consultant 3

Stephanie Wohlner
Stephanie Wohlner Design LLC
1442 Waverly Rd
Highland Park, IL 60035, USA
Phone: (847) 432-8735
Stephanie@swohlnerdesign.com

Consultant 4

Ehab Elqaq
Advance Consulting Group
300 West Adams Suite 420
Chicago, IL 60606, usa
Phone: 312-357-1840
ehab@acgintl.com

Photographer

Eric Hausman
Eric Hausman Photography
35 e wacker dr
Chicago, IL 60601, USA
Phone: 312-450-5508
eric@erichausman.com