Manzanita Hall, Arizona State University

Tempe, Arizona / United States of America

Originally designed by Cartmell and Rossman in 1967, the 15-story Manzanita Hall was, at the time, the tallest building in Arizona. The dormitory became an immediate icon on the ASU campus with its unique geometric exterior design. However, after over 40 years of housing over 40,000 students, the dormitory was in poor condition and was no longer serving the needs of the student body.

Incorporating the tenets of in ACUHO-I's 21st Century Project and the needs of the university housing staff, the design team developed a renovation plan that improved physical and social connections, increased natural light into the building and integrated technologies for today's students. Working within the constraints of the existing building, the design team reconfigured the floor plans and incorporated two-story communal lounges and kitchens within new "found space". The reconfiguration of space injects new life into the building, providing students with a well-functioning building that promotes academic performance, collaboration, and community. The newly renovated building provides excellent energy performance due to the updated mechanical, electrical and plumbing systems and new energy-efficient exterior enclosure. The decision to renovate Manzanita demonstrates ASU's commitment to sustainability and to preserving an icon cherished by ASU alumni for generations.



Architect of record

Christiana Moss
Studio Ma
130 N Central Avenue, No. 300
Phoenix, AZ 85004, United States
Phone: 602.405.7385
moss@studioma.com

Associate architect

Jim Curtin
Solomon Cordwell Buenz
625 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60611, USA
Phone: 312.896.1112
jim.curtin@scb.com

General contractor

Russell Myers
Hardison/Downey Construction, Inc.
6150 N. 16th St., Suite A
Phoenix, AZ 85016, USA
Phone: 630.390.2252
rmyers@hardisondowney.com

Consultant 1

Jason Willis
American Campus Communities
12700 Hill Country Blvd., Suite T-200
Austin, TX 78738, USA
Phone: 512.732.1000
jwillis@americancampus.com

Consultant 2

Eileen Wright
Sixthriver Architects
3601 S. Congress Ave.
Austin, TX 78704, USA
Phone: 512.306.9928
ewright@sixthriver.com

Consultant 3

Paul Pennington
GLHN Architects & Engineers, Inc.
2939 E. Broadway Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85716, USA
Phone: 520.881.4546
ppennington@glhn.com

Consultant 4

Valerie Granger
PK Associates LLC
7434 E. McDonald Dr.
Scottsdale, AZ 85250, USA
Phone: 480-922-8854
Fax: 480-922-3739
vgranger@pkastructural.com

Consultant 5

Adrian Carvajal
Dibble Engineering
7500 N. Dreamy Draw Dr., Suite 200
Phoenix, AZ 85020, USA
Phone: 602.957.1155
adrian.carvajal@dibblecorp.com

Photographer

Bill Timmerman
Timmerman Photography, Inc.
212 S. 18th St.
Phoenix, AZ 85034, USA
Phone: 602.403.1441
bill@timmerman.com