Kline Chemistry Laboratory

New Haven, Illinois / United States of America

The Kline Chemistry Laboratory (KCL), originally completed in 1964, was designed by Philip Johnson as an extension to the Sterling Chemistry Lab (SCL). This project comprehensively renovated the existing KCL building to create adaptable, state-of-the-art science research laboratory spaces. The first phase of a multi-phase renovation of two adjacent chemistry buildings, this project included program verification, replacement of all interior finishes and building systems, life safety upgrades, and exterior envelope alterations. The program accommodates research labs for organic and biophysical chemistry, chemistry and x-ray instrument centers, equipment and support rooms, workrooms, offices, lounge, and meeting spaces. Reconfiguration of the floor plate allowed for deeper lab bays and adjacency of support rooms to labs and two additions at the inner courtyard provide new building cores. Public circulation was relocated adjacent to the courtyard, where a new glazed curtain wall allows for improved way-finding, a visual connection to SCL, and increased penetration of daylight. A continuous circulation path and enhanced connection points to SCL seamlessly integrate the two adjacent science buildings. Now daylight-infused interiors and visually-related public spaces foster communication between research and teaching components within the context of the Science Hill Master Plan, an overarching goal of the client.



Architect of record

Aric Lasher
HBRA Architects, Inc
372 W. Ontario Street, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 3125273200
alasher@hbra-arch.com

General contractor

Paul Aballo
Dimeo Construction Company
75 Chapman Street
Providence, RI 02905, United States
Phone: 4013302250
paballo@dimeo.com

Consultant 1

David Bauermeister
Jacobs Consultancy, Inc.
303 S. Broadway, Suite G20
Tarrytown, NY 10591, United States
Phone: 9143331110
david.bauermeister@jacobs.com

Consultant 2

Donald Haiges
WSP Flack & Kurtz
88 Black Falcon Ave.
Boston, MA 02210, United States
Phone: 6172101600
donald.haiges@wspfk.com

Consultant 3

Bob Silman
Robert Silman Associates
88 University Place
New York, NY 10003, United States
Phone: 2126207970
silman@silman.com

Consultant 4

Nicole Holmes
Nitsch Engineering
186 Lincoln Street, Suite 200
Boston, MA 02111, United States
Phone: 6173380063
nholmes@nitscheng.com

Consultant 5

James Triano
Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.
2 Trap Falls Road, Suite 502
Shelton, CT 06484, United States
Phone: 2039449424
jtriano@wje.com

Consultant 6

Jon Eisenberg
Rolf Jensen & Associates
1661 Worcester Rd., Suite 501
Framingham, MA 01701, United States
Phone: 5086208900
jeisenberg@rjagroup.com

Consultant 7

Mark Loeffler
Atelier Ten
195 Church Street, Suite 10C
New Haven, CT 06510, United States
Phone: 2037771400
mark.loeffler@atelierten.com

Consultant 8

Mark Reber
Jaffe Holden
114-A Washington Street
Norwalk, CT 06854, United States
Phone: 2088384167
mreber@jaffeholden.com

Consultant 9

Renee Doktorczyk
ArchiTech Consulting, Inc
111 E. Busse Ave, Suite 601
Mount Prospect, IL 60056, United States
Phone: 2243453450
rdoktorczyk@architechspec.com

Consultant 10

Matthew Payne
Built Ecology
512 7th Avenue, 13th Floor
New York, NY 10018, United States
Phone: 2129515904
matthew.payne@wspfk.com

Photographer

Mark Ballogg
Ballogg Photography
1459 W. Cortez
Chicago, IL 60642, United States
Phone: 7737721507
mark@balloggphoto.com