Kline Chemistry Laboratory

New Haven, Connecticut / United States of America

The Kline Chemistry Laboratory was completed by Philip Johnson in 1964 as an extension to the gothic Sterling Laboratory. This project comprehensively renovated the Kline building to create adaptable, state-of-the-art research spaces in what had been considered an obsolete and unsalvageable facility. Public circulation was relocated adjacent to the original courtyard, where a new glazed curtain wall now affords a previously lacking sense of orientation for occupants, a visual connection to Sterling, and generous penetration of daylight into the building.

The new glass and aluminum screen replaces an undistinguished masonry office wall, taking its profiles, grammar of reveals and its color from Johnson's original steel and glass infill walls that enclose connecting vestibules to Sterling. The introduction of this element relates the building's interior and exterior spaces and provides places for informal gathering, breakout and opportunity for relief to those engaged in exacting research activities. The building's frame is revealed, exposing the laboratory's underlying modular organization. Brick reclaimed from original walls flanks the screen, providing seamless integration of new and old.

This single element adopts Kline's original architectural language in transforming a formerly hermetic addition into a now memorable building with a distinct identity and welcoming, dignified presence.



Architect of record

Aric Lasher
HBRA Architects, Inc
372 W. Ontario Street, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 3125273200
alasher@hbra-arch.com

General contractor

Paul Aballo
Dimeo Construction Company
75 Chapman Street
Providence, RI 02905, United States
Phone: 4013302250
paballo@dimeo.com

Consultant 1

David Bauermeister
Jacobs Consultancy, Inc.
303 S. Broadway, Suite G20
Tarrytown, NY 10591, United States
Phone: 9143331110
david.bauermeister@jacobs.com

Consultant 2

Donald Haiges
WSP Flack & Kurtz
88 Black Falcon Ave., Suite 210
Boston, MA 02210, United States
Phone: 6172101600
donald.haiges@wspfk.com

Consultant 3

Bob Silman
Robert Silman Associates
88 University Place
New York, NY 10003, United States
Phone: 2126207970
silman@silman.com

Consultant 4

Nicole Holmes
Nitsch Engineering
186 Lincoln Street, Suite 200
Boston, MA 02111, United States
Phone: 6173380063
nholmes@nitscheng.com

Consultant 5

James Triano
Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.
2 Trap Falls Road, Suite 502
Shelton, CT 06484, United States
Phone: 2039449424
jtriano@wje.com

Consultant 6

Jon Eisenberg
Rolf Jense & Associates
1661 Worcester Rd., Suite 501
Framingham, MA 01701, United States
Phone: 5086208900
jeisenberg@rjagroup.com

Consultant 7

Mark Loeffler
Atelier Ten
195 Church Street, Suite 10C
New Haven, CT 06510, United States
Phone: 2037771400
mark.loeffler@atelierten.com

Consultant 8

Mark Reber
Jaffe Holden
114-A Washington Street
Norwalk, CT 06854, United States
Phone: 2088384167
mreber@jaffeholden.com

Consultant 9

Renee Doktorczyk
ArchiTech Consulting, Inc
111 E. Busse Ave, Suite 601
Mount Prospect, IL 60056, United States
Phone: 2243453450
rdoktorczyk@architechspec.com

Consultant 10

Matthew Payne
Built Ecology
512 7th Avenue, 13th Floor
New York, NY 10018, United States
Phone: 2129515904
matthew.payne@wspfk.com

Photographer

Mark Ballogg
Ballogg Photography
1459 W. Cortez
Chicago, IL 60642, United States
Phone: 7737721507
mark@balloggphoto.com