Kelsey Museum of Archaeology

Ann Arbor, Michigan / United States of America

Since 1928, the University's archeological collection has been housed in Newberry Hall, an 1880's Richardsonian Romanesque building adjacent to the University's main quadrangle. Built of polychromatic stone and featuring a large art glass window by the Tiffany Studios, Newberry Hall is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In 1953 the Museum was named for Professor Francis W. Kelsey, who had initially assembled its collection. The Museum has grown to encompass a library, galleries, and spaces for education, research, collections storage and study as well as curatorial and administrative offices. Having to accommodate an expanding program, the original building lacked sufficient space and did not meet contemporary standards for a museum environment.

Project goals included providing the Museum with additional exhibition space of museum-quality standards while increasing the visibility of the Museum to the community at large, providing research, teaching, and education support spaces lacking in the present facility and museum-quality collections storage space for long-term safekeeping of the collections.



Architect of record

Aric Lasher
HBRA Architects, Inc
372 W. Ontario Street, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 3125273200
alasher@hbra-arch.com

General contractor

Frank Burdick
Spence Brothers
4343 Concourse Drive, Suite 100
Ann Arbor, MI 48108, United States
Phone: 6302136033
frankburdick@spencebrothers.com

Consultant 1

Robert Tazelaar
WMA Consulting Engineers, Ltd.
815 S. Wabash Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605, United States
Phone: 3128705110
rtazelaar@wmace.com

Consultant 2

Jan Blok
The Structural Group
707 Lake Cook Road, Suite 107
Deerfield, IL 60015, United States
Phone: 8475621977
jblok@thestructuralgroup.com

Consultant 3

Paul Laudolff
CCS International, Inc
1815 S. Meyers Road, Suite 200
Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181, United States
Phone: 6306780808
plaudolff@ccsdifference.com

Consultant 4

Renee Roktorczyk
ArchiTech Consulting, Inc
111 E. Busse Avenue, Suite 601
Mount Prospect, IL 60056, United States
Phone: 2243453450
rdoktorczyk@architechspec.com

Consultant 5

John Wood
Claude R. Engle Lighting Consultant
2 Wisconsin Circle, Suite 860
Chevy Chase, MD 20815, United States
Phone: 3016545502
john@crengle.com

Consultant 6

Stan Roller
Stan Roller & Associates, Inc.
867 Lilac Lane
Naperville, IL 60540, United States
Phone: 6303558232
rollstan@aol.com

Consultant 7

Clifford La Fontaine
Clifford La Fontaine
428 East 13th Street
New York, NY 10009, United States
Phone: 2124752704
clifford@cliffordlafontaine.com

Consultant 8

Daniel Creaney
Daniel Dreaney Company
450 Skokie Blvd., Suite 105
Northbrook, IL 60062, United States
Phone: 8474805757
dcreaney@dcreaneyco.com

Photographer

Mark Ballogg
Ballogg Photography
1459 W. Cortez
Chicago, IL 60642, United States
Phone: 7737721507
mark@balloggphoto.com