John and Carol Walter Ambulatory Care Center - Glenbrook Hospital

Glenview, Illinois / United States of America

The most current addition to the Glenbrook Hospital Campus is the new 170,000 SF John and Carol Walter Ambulatory Care Center located on the western 
portion of the campus. The new ACC resulted from a need for expansion of the Kellogg Cancer Center, a new home for the Northshore Neurological 
Institute, facilities for the Urolologic Institute and on-campus space for physicians. The new structure also consolidates public facilities for retail pharmacy, 
gift shop and café all in a convenient ground floor location between the two main hospital entries.

The three-level, LEED silver ACC connects to the hospital and functions as one of two primary hospital entries. All public amenities in addition to waiting 
areas for radiology, outpatient lab, surgery and emergency are located on the primary path between entries. Wayfinding is further simplified with the 
proximity of continuous exterior views along this circulation path.



Architect of record

Walter Eckenhoff
Eckenhoff Saunders Architects
700 S. Clinton St., Suite 200
Chicago, IL 60607, United States
Phone: 312-786-1204
weckenhoff@esa-inc.com

General contractor

Andy Kohler
Pepper Construction
643 North Orleans St.
Chicago, IL 60654, USA
Phone: 312-266-4700
akohler@pepperconstruction.com

Consultant 1

Don Matthews
Gewalt Hamilton
850 Forest Edge Dr.
Vernon Hills, IL 60061, USA
Phone: 847-478-9700
Fax: 847-478-9701
dmatthews@gha-engineers.com

Consultant 2

Nick Patera
Teska
627 Grove Street
Evanston, IL 60201, USA
Phone: 847-869-2015
Fax: 847-869-2059
npatera@teskassociates.com

Consultant 3

James Shults
Grumman / Butkus Associates
820 Davis St., Suite 300
Evanston, IL 60201, USA
Phone: 847-328-3555
Fax: 847-328-4550
jshults@grummonbutkus.com

Consultant 4

Roger Allen
Dickerson Engineering
8101 N. Milwaukee
Niles, IL 60714, USA
Phone: 847-966-0290
Fax: 847-966-0294
roger.allen@dei-pe.com

Consultant 5

Pete Danos
CS Associates
4532 W. 103rd
Oak Lawn, IL 60453, USA
Phone: 708-422-5306
Fax: 708-422-3982
pdanos@csaeng.com

Photographer

Mariusz Mizera
Mariusz Mizera Photography
6910 Manchester Drive
Plainfield, IL 60586, USA
Phone: 773-539-6701
mariusz@mizera.com