Jacob K. Javits Convention Center Renovation

New York City, New York / United States of America

SPECIAL RECOGNITION

Originally designed by I.M. Pei and Partners in 1979, the Javits Center was conceived as a new incarnation of Joseph Paxton's 1851 Crystal Palace in London. But while the vision for the building was advanced—the space frame is the largest in the world—the necessary technology, funding, and political will were lacking. The mega-structure's original design vision was seriously compromised during its implementation by several factors, such as one bay of exposition space, about sixty thousand square feet, was eliminated; the 185-foot-high main entrance—the contemporary Crystal Palace—was never truly crystalline, since the only glass that met the performance standards of the day was dark and gloomy; and the location of the building worked against it—the site was isolated along the Hudson River's derelict piers and unconnected to the metropolis at street level or via the subway system.

The design team has now restored the Javits Center's technological promise and overhauled its environmental and quality-of-life impact. The project includes a complete renovation and modernization, a northward expansion, and a comprehensive sustainability strategy. The building's appearance, systems, urban linkages, and day-to-day performance have been transformed; and the original space frame and overall functionality maintained.



Architect of record

Noel Abbott
FXFOWLE | Epstein Joint Venture
22 West 19th Street
New York, NY 10011, United States
Phone: 312-429-8048
Fax: 312-559-1217
nabbott@epsteinglobal.com

General contractor

Brendan Ranson-Walsh
Tishman Construction, an AECOM Company
100 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10017, United States
Phone: 212-708-6800
brendan.ranson-walsh@aecom.com

Consultant 1

Tian-Fang Jin
Weidlinger Associates
375 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10014, United States
Phone: 212-367-3064
jing@wai.com

Consultant 2

David Choy
WSP Group
512 7th Avenue
New York, NY 10018, United States
Phone: 212-951-3904
david.choy@wspgroup.com

Consultant 3

Mark Gallagher
Langan Engineering
360 West 31st Street
New York, NY 10001, United States
Phone: 212-479-5408
mgallagher@langan.com

Consultant 4

Ken Smith
Ken Smith Landscape Architect
79 Chambers Street
New York, NY 10007, United States
Phone: 212-791-3595
ken@kensmithworkshop.com

Photographer

Chris Cooper
Chris Cooper Photographer
172 Fifth Avenue, #45
Brooklyn, NY 11217, United States
Phone: 347-889-6588
chris@chriscooperphotographer.com

Photographer 2

Erica Stoller
Esto Photographics Inc.
222 Valley Place
Mamaroneck, NY 10543, United States
Phone: 914-698-4060
esto@esto.com