Illinois Residence

Confidential, Illinois / United States of America

Located on a rolling expansive site in Illinois, the residence is designed as a collection of single storey pavilions systematically distributed into the landscape. The programmatic pavilions are collected under an undulating roof plane, visually connecting the activity of the natural landscape to the dynamic composition of the new residence.

The main entry is located between the Bedroom Suite to the north and the Living & Dining Room volumes to the south. The Entry and Service Hall interiors are designed with consistent ceiling planes at a modest height. Upon entering the Living Room, Dining Room & Master Bedroom Suite the ceiling heights expand into an elegant faceted surface, opening expansive views of the surrounding prairie landscape.

The exterior material palette is composed of a simple combination of stone, wood and glass intended to complement the trees, flowers and grasses typical of the local prairie landscape. The interior finishes (hickory, plaster, and a variety of stones) were selected for their subtle colors and textures, allowing the undulating ceiling plane to stand out as the residence's predominant architectural feature.



Architect of record

Dirk Denison
Dirk Denison Architects
1123 W. Washington BLVD
Chicago, IL 60607, USA
Phone: 312 455 1388
twaldorf@dirkdenisonarchitects.com

General contractor

Todd Altounian
Altounian Builders
13110 W Highway 176
Lake Bluff, IL 60044, USA
Phone: 847-234-8600
taltounian@altounian.com

Consultant 1

Jim Kirk
Enspect Engineering Services
8896 Louisiana St
Merrillville, IN 46410, USA
Phone: 219-736-6002
jkirk@Enspectinc.com

Consultant 2

James Bess
Building Engineering Systems
444 N Wells, Suite 501
Chicago, IL 60610, USA
Phone: 312-836-0595
jbess@besengr.com

Consultant 3

Mitchell Kohn
Mitchell B. Kohn Lighting Design
2256 Linden Ave
Highland Park, IL 60035, USA
Phone: 847-433-0840
Mitchell@mbklightingdesign.com

Consultant 4

Scott Byron
Scott Byron & Co.
30088 N Skokie Highway
Lake Bluff, IL 60044, USA
Phone: 847-689-0266
sbyron@scottbyron.com

Photographer

Michelle Litvin
The Michelle Litvin Studio
731 W 18th St
Chicago, IL 60616, USA
Phone: (312) 421-9242
michelle@michellelitvin.com