Hyatt Regency Chicago Atrium Lobby Renovation

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

In Chicago's resurging hospitality market, perhaps no other project has transformed an existing hotel more dramatically than the renovation of the Atrium Lobby at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Over the years, this well known space at the Chicago Riverfront has welcomed millions of guests visiting the city, as well as local residents attending conventions and other events. Unfortunately, time had not been kind to its design and the cavernous space no longer provided a welcoming, guest-centric experience.

The central vision behind this new renovation re-establishes the atrium as a grand urban space that conveys the excitement and energy of Chicago's largest hotel while it also re-defines comfortable, smaller scaled spaces for program elements such as the Registration Area, American Craft Restaurant, the Market Cafe, Big Bar and Stetson's Steakhouse. These spaces are articulated through a craft-based vocabulary of wood trellises, metalwork screens, lighting arrays, local artwork and a water feature - all of which are based on regional themes which reflect the city's agriculturally based heritage and landscape. An expansive brise soleil louver system under the existing skylight unifies the entire space, softens the effects of direct sunlight and reduces solar heat gain.



Architect of record

Edward Torrez
BauerLatoza Studio
2241 S Wabash Avenue
Chicago, IL 60616, United States
Phone: 3125671000
etorrez@bauerlatozastudio.com

Associate architect

Paul Bentel
Bentel and Bentel
22 Buckram Road
Locust Valley, NY 11560, United States
Phone: 5166762880
plb@bentelandbentel.com

General contractor

Tom Conroy
McHugh Construction Company
1737 S Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60616, United States
Phone: 3124318518
tconroy@mchughconstruction.com

Consultant 1

Al Butkus
Grumman/Butkus Associates
820 Davis Street, #300
Evanston, IL 60201, United States
Phone: 8473283555
abutkus@grummanbutkus.com

Consultant 2

Dan Weinreber
Kaplan Gehring McCarroll
270 Coral Circle
El Segundo, CA 90245, United States
Phone: 3105522191
dweinreber@kgmlighting.com

Consultant 3

John Gislason
Alfred Benesch & Company
205 N Michigan Ave, #2400
Chicago, IL 60601, United States
Phone: 3125650450
jgislason@benesch.com

Consultant 4

Rizwan Hussaini
Fountain Technologies
423 Denniston Court
Wheeling, IL 60090, United States
Phone: 8475373677
rizwan@fountaintechnologies.com

Photographer

James Steinkamp
Steinkamp Photography
923 Oakwood Terrace
Hinsdale, IL 60521, United States
Phone: 3127355333
james@steinkampphoto.com