Homeland Security Education Center

Glen Ellyn, Illinois / United States of America

The 66,000-square-foot Homeland Security Education Center is the gateway to the western edge of a suburban campus. The college desired a highly functional facility that would, nevertheless, pique curiosity. The solution is a singular, colorful strongbox accentuated by a series of unpredictable episodes including crenellated walls, cages, and dense planting. Thus, a glass and steel grid event space and an auditorium of folding metal walls address a busy intersection.

Along the north, an undulating glass wall organizes student gathering zones, exhibits, display cases, and offices beside a winding outdoor path. A cost-effective metal panel grid in three tones of blue merges the technological and the natural, relating to the suburban surroundings and to the existing industrial quality of the campus.

The Interior Immersive Training Lab enables simulation of urban response situations. With its brick and stucco walls, canopies, and streetlights, this space evokes a typical Main Street. It, too, comes as a surprise within the metal box.

The highly insulated, recycled metal panels and other high-performance systems decrease the LEED certified center's energy use by 23 percent when compared with a standard building of similar size.



Architect of record

Douglas Ogurek
Legat Architects, Inc.
651 W. Washington Blvd., Suite One
Chicago, IL 60661, USA
Phone: 847.406.1141
Fax: 847.249.0436
dogurek@legat.com

Associate architect

Steven Brubaker
Brubaker Design
910 N. Lake Shore Drive, #2115
Chicago, IL 60611, USA
Phone: 312.420.1095
Fax: NA
shbrubaker@sbcglobal.net

General contractor

Ken Gorman
Power Construction Company, LLC
2360 Palmer Drive
Schaumburg, IL 60173, USA
Phone: 847.214.6310
Fax: 847.925.1372
kgorman@pcec.net

Consultant 1

Daniel Wesley
AMSCO Engineering
5115 Belmont Road, #A
Downers Grove, IL 60515, USA
Phone: 630.515.1555
Fax: 630.515.1583
dwesley@amscoengineering.com

Consultant 2

Mark Kubajak
Larson Engineering
1488 Bond Street, Suite 100
Naperville, IL 60563, USA
Phone: 630.357.0540
Fax: 630.357.0164
mkubajak@larsonengr.com

Consultant 3

George Schober
V3 Companies
7325 Janes Avenue
Woodridge, IL 60517, USA
Phone: 630.724.9200
Fax: 630.724.9202
gschober@v3co.com

Consultant 4

Leonard Enz
Tactical Design
2340 S. Arlington Heights Road
Arlington Heights, IL 60005, USA
Phone: 847.387.5558
Fax: 847.544.5454
lenz@tacticalgroup.net

Consultant 5

Randy Machelski
SmithGroup/JJR
35 East Wacker, Suite 2200
Chicago, IL 60601, USA
Phone: 312.641.0770
Fax: 312.641.6728
randy.machelski@smithgroupjjr.com

Photographer

James Steinkamp
Steinkamp Photography
923 Oakwood Terrace
Hinsdale, IL 60521, USA
Phone: 312.735.5333
Fax: NA
james@steinkampphoto.com