Fred and Pamela Buffett Place

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

Fred and Pamela Buffett Place seeks to define a new paradigm for sustainable preservation as it relates to affordable and supportive housing in Chicago. Engaging residents and the community to capitalize on local assets, inspiration, and potential, the project ultimately sets a new standard by creating a welcoming and therapeutic environment that promotes health, happiness, and well-being.

Buffett Place, formerly known as the Diplomat SRO, is a 51-unit green residential and transit-oriented development which provides affordable housing and supportive services to individuals with mental illnesses or at risk of homelessness. The major renovation required the dramatic removal of a one-story structure to create a protected courtyard, bringing light into the center of the building where trained staff provides mental health and wellness programming. The construction–although challenging in a dense urban area–presented an opportunity for inventive rehabilitation. Salvaged wood joists and framing material were used to produce interior furniture and fixtures and a permanent community art installation in the lobby. The emphasis on resident health extends from the rooftop garden to the ground floor, where a social enterprise flower shop invites neighbors to participate in the revitalization of this building and the recovery of the individuals who reside within it.



Architect of record

Jeff Bone
Landon Bone Baker Architects
734 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Chicago, IL 60642, USA
Phone: 312-212-0776
jbone@landonbonebaker.com

Associate architect

Claudia Rodriguez
Landon Bone Baker Architects
734 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Chicago, IL 60642, USA
Phone: 312-212-0778
crodriguez@landonbonebaker.com

General contractor

Jamie Bell
Linn-Mathes Inc.
309 S. Green St.
Chicago, IL 60607, USA
Phone: (312) 454-0200
jamie@linn-mathes.com

Consultant 1

Victor Carsello
Carsello Engineering Inc.
2656 Wild Timothy Rd.
Naperville, IL 60564, USA
Phone: (630) 854-9567
victor@carselloeng.com

Consultant 2

Ray Walston
Prism Engineering
122 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60603, USA
Phone: (312) 362-9900
raymond.walston@prism-eng.com

Consultant 3

Sachin Anand
dbHMS
303 W. Erie St., #510
Chicago, IL 60654, USA
Phone: (312) 915-0557
sanand@dbhms.com

Consultant 4

Mimi McKay
McKay Landscape Architects
5215 N. Ravenswood Ave., #306
Chicago, IL 60640, USA
Phone: (773) 561-1227
mimi@mckaylandarch.com

Photographer

Mark Ballogg
Ballogg Photography
1459 W. Cortez St.
Chicago, IL 60642, USA
Phone: (773) 772-1507
mark@balloggphoto.com