Energy Sciences Building

Lemont , Illinois / United States of America

The Energy Sciences Building at Argonne National Laboratory is the new 158,000-square-foot home for interdisciplinary scientists working at the forefront of clean energy research, aimed at advancing how the world consumes and conserves energy. This idea of "energy" is celebrated throughout the building anticipating LEED Gold certification.

The first building on campus organized by science and not department, the interiors promote interdisciplinary collaboration and community. The spatial heart of the building is a 3-story atrium and gathering space that allows views to and through the energy and activity on each of the floors, connected by a cantilevered stair. Reclaimed wood, recycled oxidized metal panels, and recycled glass terrazzo floors create a warm atmosphere that invites participation and interaction, while skylights and windows ensure the space is light-filled and ever-changing throughout the day.

On each side of the atrium is a central spine of lab blocks, with windows lining public corridors that allow views in and out of the labs, along with borrowed daylight filtered through surrounding bars of naturally-lit offices and meeting spaces. Outdoor terraces punctuate the perimeter of the building, communicating the collaborative spirit and energy of the building to the greater Argonne community.



Architect of record

Warren Hendrickson
HDR
33 West Monroe, Suite 1750
Chicago, IL 60603, USA
Phone: 312-470-9501
warren.hendrickson@hdrinc.com

Associate architect

Curt Frinfrock
HDR
33 W. Monroe, Ste. 1750
Chicago, IL 60603, USA
Phone: 312-470-9501
curt.frinfrock@hdrinc.com

General contractor

David Trolian
Clark Construction Group-Chicago
216 South Jefferson St., Ste. 502
Chicago, IL 60661, USA
Phone: 312-474-5500
david.trolian@clarkchicago.com

Consultant 1

Patrick Hogan
Jacobs Engineering
155 North Lake Ave.
Pasadena, CA 91101, USA
Phone: 313-656-1672
patrick.hogan@jacobs.com

Consultant 2

Martin Sterr
HDR
33 W. Monroe, Ste. 1750
Chicago, IL 60603, USA
Phone: 312-470-9501
martin.sterr@hdrinc.com

Consultant 3

Steve Sandrock
HDR
1101 King St., Ste. 400
Alexandria, VA 22314, USA
Phone: 703-518-8526
steve.sandrock@hdrinc.com

Consultant 4

David Shindoll
Macke Consultants, LLC
9575 W. Higgins Rd., Ste. 500
Rosemont, IL 60018, USA
Phone: 847-696-1400
dshindoll@mackieconsult.com

Consultant 5

Krysia Lynch
HDR
33 W. Monroe St., Ste 1750
Chicago, IL 60603, USA
Phone: 312-470-9501
krysia.lynch@hdrinc.com

Photographer

David Burk
Hedrich Blessing
400 North Peoria Street
Chicago, IL 60642, USA
Phone: 312-491-1101
jon@hedrichblessing.com