Dallas City Performance Hall

Dallas, Texas / United States of America

Opened in September 2012, the Dallas City Performance Hall provides a worldclass venue to accommodate emerging, local performance groups. The 59,000-square-feet building houses a 750-seat audience chamber on two levels, a proscenium type stage with an 80-foot-high fly tower, a multilevel lobby with expanded pre-function capabilities, backstage support, offices, and a central plant and loading dock.

Commissioned without philanthropic support, the challenge was to create this venue on a budget of $32 Million—a remarkably modest budget considering its high level of technical and acoustical capabilities. A simple materials palette of concrete, glass, steel, and oak serve dual functional and aesthetic purposes. The poured-in-place concrete structure acts as both the exterior and primary interior finish, while oak panels and reflectors, located only where acoustically needed, add warmth to the interior. Custom 60-foot wool serge banners deploy at the side walls to adjust for amplified sound, and the articulated board-form concrete walls in the audience chamber diffuse and blend the sound while providing a unique aesthetic. On stage, a gridded LED "curtain" provides a programmable canvas for visual artists commissioned by the City of Dallas Office of Cultural Affairs.

The project is expected to attain LEED® Silver certification at minimum.



Architect of record

Kirk Johnson
Corgan Associates
401 North Houston St.
Dallas, TX 75202, United States
Phone: 214 757 1747
kirk.johnson@corgan.com

Associate architect

Jeffrey McCarthy
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
224 S. Michigan Ave., Suite 1000
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: 312 360 4378
katie.rathbone@som.com

General contractor

Jeff Wagner
Texas Division Office, McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.
12001 N. Central Expressway, Suite 400
Dallas, TX 75243, United States
Phone: 949 851 8383
jwagner@mccarthy.com

Consultant 1

Robert Shook
Schuler Shook
750 N. Orleans St., Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 312 944 8320
rshook@schulershook.com

Consultant 2

Mark Holden
Jaffe Holden Acoustics, Inc.
114A Washington St.
Norwalk, CT 06854, United States
Phone: 203 838 4167
mholden@jaffeholden.com

Consultant 3

Jon Herrin
L.A. Fuess Partners, Inc.
3333 Lee Parkway
Dallas, TX 75219, United States
Phone: 214 507 8772
jherrin@lafp.com

Consultant 4

Frost Gardner
Aguirre Roden
10670 N. Central Expressway, 6th Floor
Dallas, TX 75213, United States
Phone: 972 788 1508
fgardner@aguirreroden.com

Consultant 5

Carol Naughton
Naughton + Associates, Inc.
213 West Institute Place
Chicago, IL 60610, United States
Phone: 312 951 5353
cnaughton@naughtonassociates.com

Consultant 6

Caye Cook
Caye Cook & Associates
12700 Hillcrest Rd., Suite 149
Dallas, TX 75230, United States
Phone: 972 385 9501
caye@ccalandscapearch.com

Photographer

Nick Merrick
Hedrich Blessing Photographers
400 N. Peoria St.
Chicago, IL 60642, United States
Phone: 312 491 1101
nick@hedrichblessing.com