Coast at Lakeshore East

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

This glass tower was designed in the tradition of Chicago modernism. It rises 47 stories above Wacker Drive to overlook Lakeshore East Park, the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. The mixed-use tower contains 671,280 GSF, which includes 515 residential units, retail and amenity spaces. All parking is located below Wacker Drive, allowing the tower to meet the street gracefully, enhancing the pedestrian experience at street level.

Coast is a composition of light and translucency. The tower features unique, continuous balconies on the north and south facades that contribute to the overall architecture of the building. The balconies' glass handrails create a strong horizontality which is captured at the ends by glass curtain walls on the east and west facades. The curtain walls are a composition of clear, translucent and fritted glass. The horizontally captured balconies coupled with the glass end walls combine to create the appearance of a pure glass tower form on the skyline. In this spirit, the balconies are not a distraction to the architecture, but become integral elements in the building's composition. These balconies provide private outdoor space nearly unmatched within the downtown Chicago rental market as well as views of the skyline and Millennium Park.



Architect of record

Thomas Kerwin
bKL Architecture LLC
225 N. Columbus Drive, Suite 100
Chicago, IL 60601, USA
Phone: 312-469-8131
tkerwin@bklarch.com

Associate architect

Jim Loewenberg
Loewenberg Architects
225 N. Columbus Drive, Suite 100
Chicago, IL 60601, USA
Phone: 312-440-9600
jrl@loewenberg.com

General contractor

Bruce Lake
James McHugh Construction Co.
1737 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60616, USA
Phone: 312-842-8400
blake@mchughconstruction.com

Consultant 1

Ralph Calistro
CSAssociates, Inc.
4532 W. 103rd Street
Oak Lawn, IL 60453, USA
Phone: 708-422-5306
rcalistro@csaeng.com

Consultant 2

David Shindoll
Mackie Consultants, LLC
9575 W. Higgins Road, Suite 500
Rosemont, IL 60018, USA
Phone: 847-696-1400
dshindoll@mackieconsult.com

Consultant 3

Ted Wolff
Wolff Landscape Architecture, Inc.
307 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 601
Chicago, IL 60601, USA
Phone: 312-663-5494
twolff@wolfflandscape.com

Consultant 4

Sachin Anand
dbHMS
303 W. Erie, Suite 510
Chicago, IL 60654, USA
Phone: 312-915-0557
sanand@dbhms.com

Photographer

Darris Harris
Darris Lee Harris Photography
1225 W. Morse Ave., #505
Chicago, IL 60626, USA
Phone: 312-718-4469
darris@darrisharris.com