Chicago Booth 455

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

HONOR AWARD

Chicago Booth 455 provides an additional 15,000sf of collaborative teaching/learning space on the ground floor of an office tower adjacent to Booth's Gleacher Center in downtown Chicago. Chicago Booth knew what they didn't want---the same Old Money mahogany and marble found in other business schools---and they knew what they did want---a space like their programs---lucid, rational, productive, and, above all, transparent. 
The space is long, lofty, and filled with daylight from the extensive glazing facing the urban plaza outside. Everything is organized in three parallel layers. Along the windows are the entry, an open study lounge (also used for receptions), and glass-enclosed conference rooms. Next, low pavilions contain glazed 16 seminar rooms (lined with whiteboards and digital technology) and a study bar/buffet. At the rear, a glazed flat classroom gives professors a laboratory where they can experiment with new instruction techniques, two tiered classrooms for conventional teaching, and support spaces. Throughout, our intention was to clearly organize and connect activities and then get out of the way, letting the activities themselves---intense collaboration between students and professors---to take center stage. 
Materials: wood (walnut & custom grey stained oak), terrazzo, woven vinyl flooring, stainless steel, glass



Architect of record

David Woodhouse
Woodhouse Tinucci Architects
230 W Superior Street
Chicago, Illinois 60654, United States
Phone: 3129433120
d.woodhouse@davidwoodhouse.com

General contractor

Scott Lappe
Mortenson Construction
500 W Jackson Boulevard
Chicago, IL 60661, United States
Phone: 312-207-1318
scott.lappe@mortenson.com

Consultant 1

Anil Ahuja
CCJM Engineers
2 N Riverside Plaza 1050
Chicago, IL 60606, United States
Phone: 3126690525
aahuja@ccjm.com

Consultant 2

Thomas Patterson
Lux Populi
Plaza San Jacinto 3 interior F
Mexico City, xx xx, Mexico
Phone: 3108955484
thomas@luxpopuli.com

Consultant 3

Gene Mojekwu
Matrix Engineering
33 W Jackson Boulevard 4FL
Chicago, IL 60604, United States
Phone: 3124274220
gene@matrixchicago.com

Consultant 4

Nick Orzog
Rolf Jensen & Assciates
600 W Fulton Street 500
Chicago, IL 60661, United States
Phone: 3128318200
nozog@rjagroup.com

Photographer

Mike Schwartz
Mike Schwartz Photo
150 W Superior Street 1404
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 9132690909
mike@mikeSchwartzphoto.com

Photographer 2

Andy Tinucci
David Woodhouse Architects
230 W Superior Street
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 3129433120
a.tinucci@davidwoodhouse.com