Charles Deering Library West Entry

Evanston, Illinois / United States of America

Restoration of the historic Deering Library's entrance and lobby provides a new face for the combined library complex, strengthens connections between Deering and the adjacent Main University Library and preserves the unique architectural character of this cherished 1933 landmark by architect James Gamble Rogers.

Work included construction of a new, accessible entry route and plaza fronting on the adjacent meadow, new custom-designed lamp standards and railings, new landscaping, accommodation for assembly podia and media hookups, restoration of exterior lighting and finishes and re-commissioning of the original entry doors. Inside, work included repair and restoration of historic finishes, assemblies, and a new security station and entry vestibules stipulated to be indistinguishable from the building's original architecture. This encompassed restoration and augmentation of historic lighting, new custom-designed, archival-quality display vitrines, custom signage standards, and custom-designed light fixtures.

Building-wide work included improvements to accessible routes, elevator, security and life-safety enhancements, and redesign of the corridor linking Deering to Main library, including new finishes, lighting, signage, millwork and integrated digital media displays designed to clearly mark the point of transition between Main and Deering.



Architect of record

Aric Lasher
HBRA Architects, Inc
372 W. Ontario Street, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60654, United States
Phone: 3125273200
alasher@hbra-arch.com

General contractor

Mike Shydlowski
W.B. Olson
3235 Arnold Lane
Northbrook, IL 60062, United States
Phone: 8474983800
mikes@wbo.com

Consultant 1

Steve Sovak
WMA Consulting Engineers, Ltd.
815 S. Wabash Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605, United States
Phone: 3127864310
ssovac@wmace.com

Consultant 2

Farhad Rezai
Rubinos & Mesia Engineers, Inc.
200 South Michigan Avenue, Suite 1500
Chicago, IL 60604, United States
Phone: 3128706614
frezai@rme-i.com

Consultant 3

Anne Kustner Haser
Anne Kustner Lighting Design
900 Isabella Street
Evanston, IL 60201
Phone: 8474752010
akustner@akld.net

Consultant 4

Paul Laudolff
CCS International, Inc
1815 S. Meyers Road, Suite 200
Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181, United States
Phone: 6306780808
plaudolff@ccsdifference.com

Consultant 5

Renee Doktorczyk
ArchiTech Consulting, Inc
111 East Busse Avenue, Suite 601
Mount Prospect, IL 60056, United States
Phone: 2243453450
rdoktorczyk@architechspec.com

Consultant 6

Stuart Wright
HH Angus
405 N. Wabash, Suite 806
Chicago, IL 60611, United States
Phone: 3125275552
stuart.wright@hhangus.com

Consultant 7

Jim Durham
Quarra Stone Company, LLC
333 Atlas Avenue
Madison, WI 53714, United States
Phone: 6082468803
jdurham@quarrastone.com

Consultant 8

Van Wood
Small Corp
19 Butternut Street
Greenfield, MA 01301, United States
Phone: 4137720889
vwood@smallcorp.com

Consultant 9

John O'Brien
O'Brien Metal, Inc
2100 N. Southport Ave.
Chicago, IL 60614, United States
Phone: 8889734442
john@obrienmetal.com

Consultant 10

Tim Chmura
Barsanti Woodwork Corp.
3838 W. 51st Street
Chicago, IL 60632, United States
Phone: 7732846888
tchmura@barsantiwoodwork.com

Photographer

Mark Ballogg
Ballogg Photography
1459 W. Cortez
Chicago, IL 60642, United States
Phone: 7737721507
mark@balloggphoto.com