Adjustable Forms Inc.

Lombard, Illinois / United States of America

The owner, a cast-in-place concrete contractor, sought a building design that was a reflection of their work. The project was conceived as a vehicle to showcase the client's talents and capabilities while expanding the team's knowledge of concrete and it's potential. The project comprises an expansion and renovation of an existing office and warehouse facility. The design reuses the existing building's structural elements as much as possible. The existing concrete slabs were crushed and repurposed as granular fill material for new floor systems. 
Various methods of concrete construction were used throughout the project. Color, texture, and mix were explored and experimented with throughout the design process. A 40% fly-ash mix was predominantly used. The challenge of creating a fully sealed and thermally broken envelope was resolved by cantilevering a post-tensioned roof slab that provided a continuous thermal break at the perimeter between interior and exterior elements. 
The design limited the materials used to provide a pure minimalist aesthetic. Dark zinc panels were used to bring a stark contrast to the minimalist raw concrete massing. The zinc panel sunshade is an abstract representation of the form work being lifted from the concrete mass, what builders call "stripping the forms".



Architect of record

Nathan Casteel
DLR Group
222 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 2220
Chicago, IL 60606, United States
Phone: 312-780-1024
ncasteel@dlrgroup.com

Associate architect

Jessie James
Whitney Architects
700 Commerce Drive, Suite 350
Oak Brook, IL 60523, United States
Phone: 630-371-9927
jjames@whitney-architects.com

General contractor

James Lindquist
Adjustable Forms Inc.
1 East Progress Rd.
Lombard, IL 60148, United States
Phone: 630-953-8700
jlindquist@adjustableforms.com

Consultant 1

Steve Triphahn
W-T Engineering
2675 Pratum Avenue
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192, United States
Phone: 224-293-6333
steve.triphahn@wtengineering.com

Consultant 2

Andy Stahr
Ecology + Vision, LLC
P.O. Box 601
Leland, IL 60531, United States
Phone: 815-981-8003
andys@ecologyllc.com

Photographer

James Steinkamp
Steinkamp Photography
923 Oakwood Terrace
Hinsdale, IL 60521, United States
Phone: 312-735-5333
james@steinkampphotography.com