155 North Wacker

Chicago, Illinois / United States of America

155 North Wacker is a 48-story, 1.4 million-square-foot office tower located in downtown Chicago. While the tower's structurally rational aesthetic reinforces the fabric of Chicago's skyline, the building's distinctive open base activates the public realm through its street presence.

The tower's H-shaped massing optimizes opportunities for desirable corner offices while providing efficient, column-free floor plates for tenants. The LEED Gold building also provides expansive views and daylight for over 90% of all spaces. Within the podium, dedicated tenant amenities include state-of-the-art conference and fitness centers, and an underground garage.

Emphasizing the building's civic presence, a covered, 45-foot-tall arcade runs the length of the building's southern façade and fronts a two-story lobby, clad in a cable-supported wall of oversized glass panels. This expression defines a minimal, highly transparent enclosure that blurs the distinction between inside and out. Combined with an adjacent pocket park, designed and developed by the same team, the arcade creates a welcoming public amenity and continues a string of landscaped areas that culminate in Millennium Park.

155 North Wacker provides distinction in the skyline without forgetting the public realm. A glowing, lobby, exterior arcade and a new park combine to enhance Chicago's collection of rich urban spaces.



Architect of record

James Goettsch
Goettsch Partners
224 South Michigan Avenue, Floor 17
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-356-0600
Fax: 312-356-0601
jgoettsch@gpchicago.com

General contractor

Kraig Riebock
Bovis Lend Lease, Inc.
One North Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606, USA
Phone: 312-245-1000
kraig.riebock@bovislendlease.com

Consultant 1

Ron Klemencic
Magnusson Klemencic Associates
1301 Fifth Avenue, Suite 3200
Seattle, WA 98101, USA
Phone: 206-292-1200
rklemencic@mka.com

Consultant 2

Mark Simbrowsky
Hill Mechanical Group
11045 Gage Avenue
Franklin Park, IL 60131, USA
Phone: 847-451-5000
mark.simbrowsky@hillmech.com

Consultant 3

Matt Kelly
Gibson Electric and Technology Solutions
3100 Woodcreek Drive
Downers Grove, IL 60515, USA
Phone: 630-288-3800
mkelly@gibsonelec.com

Consultant 4

Steve Margulies
One Lux Studio, LLC
39 West 13th Street
New York, NY 10011, USA
Phone: 212-201-5790
smargulies@oneluxstudio.com

Consultant 5

Raymond Volk
Jenkins & Huntington, Inc.
737 South Stone Avenue
LeGrange, IL 60525, USA
Phone: 708-354-4278
rayvolk@ameritech.net

Consultant 6

Dan Murphy
Environmental Systems Design, Inc.
175 West Jackson Boulevard, Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60604, USA
Phone: 312-372-1200
dmurphy@edesign.com

Photographer

Tom Rossiter
Tom Rossiter Photography
2615 North Wilton Avenue
Chicago, IL 60614, USA
Phone: 312-543-8233
tom@tomrossiter.com