Distinguished Service Awards Winners

Since 1955, the Board of Directors of AIA Chicago has recognized individuals and organizations who have given outstanding service to the Chicago architectural community as a whole, including service to the profession, public service, and education. This award is not necessarily presented every year. Individuals, associations, AIA Chicago members, and members of the Chicago community at large are eligible. Past honorees have included architects, craftspersons, educators, authors, journalists, and organizations of various types.

2018    Chicago Dept. of Buildings and AIA Chicago Dept. of Buildings Working Group
2017    Steven Weiss, FAIA, service on AIA Contract Documents Committee
            Krisann Rehbein, ACE Mentor Program Chicago
2016    Jennifer Masengarb, Chicago Architecture Foundation
            I-NOMA, Illinois Chapter, National Organization of Minority Architects
            Arquitectos Chicago
2015    Julie Bachrach, Chicago Park District
            Mary Woolever, Ryerson-Burnham Library, The Art Institute of Chicago
2014    Geoffrey Baer, WTTW
2013    Mike Jackson, FAIA, Illinois Historic Preservation Agency
            Kevin Pierce, AIA
2012    Paul Knight, AIA
            Lynn Becker
            Vincent Paglione
2011    Ken Dunn, Chicago Recycling Center
            Joyce Fernandes, architreasures
            Asif Rahman, Chicago Dept. of Buildings
2010    John Vinci, FAIA and Ward Miller
            Jonathan Fine, AIA
2009    David Sharpe, IIT
2008    Roberta Feldman, PhD
2007    Paul Lurie, Esq.
            Lori Healey
            Donna Robertson, FAIA, IIT
2006    Frank Heitzman, AIA
            Erik Olsen, PE
2005    no award
2004    Neal David, AIA
            Robert Piper, FAIA, AICP
            Gerald Horn, FAIA
2003    Richard Solomon, FAIA
            Arthur Salzman, AIA
2002    John "Jack" Bowman, AIA
             Andrew Mendelson, FAIA
2001    John "Jack" Lesniak, AIA
            James J. Lucas
2000    Colin C. Munro
            A. A. "Sak" Sakhnovsky
1999    Edward Uhlir, FAIA
            Leonard Peterson, FAIA
1998    Harold Olin, FAIA
1996-97    no awards
1995    Lois Weisberg, Commissioner, Chicago Dept. of Cultural Affairs
            Eva L. Maddox, Assoc. AIA, IIDA
            Prof. Edward L. Deam, AIA
1994    Emil Pollack
            Timothy Samuelson
1993    Seymour Persky, Esq.
1992    Turner Construction Company
1991    Wim de Wit, Chicago History Museum
            Rev. Donald F. Rowe, S.J.
            John A. Holabird, Jr., FAIA
1990    Cynthia Weese, FAIA
            Raymond A. Pigozzi, FAIA
1989    John F. "Jack" Hartray, Jr., FAIA
            Leon M. Despres
1988    Paul D. McCurry, FAIA
            Edward H. Matthei, FAIA
            Chicago Women in Architecture
1987    C. William Brubaker, FAIA
            Kenneth Johnson
            William S. Donnell
1986    Dept. of Architecture, The Art Institute of Chicago
1985    Marian A. Despres
            M. W. Newman
            William A. Rooney
1984    Marilyn Whittlesey Hasbrouck
            Benjamin H. Weese, FAIA
1983    Women's Architectural League
            George E. Danforth, FAIA
            Stanley Tigerman, FAIA
            Philip F. Purcell
1982    Carter H. Manny, Jr., FAIA
            Fazlur Kahn
1981    Ira J. Bach
            Harry Weese, FAIA
            Hedrich Blessing photographers
1980    Alfred Caldwell
            Matthew Rockwell
            Paul Theobold & Co.
            Carl W. Condit
            Franz Lipp
1978-79    no awards
1977    George Sample
1972-76    no awards
1971    Rob Cuscaden
1961-70    no awards
1960    W. S. Tyler Co.
            Illinois Bronze Works Inc.
            Borg-Warner Corp.
1959    Richard Lippold
1957-58    no awards
1956    Sylvia Shaw Judson
            Caesar Fiochi Co.
            Ravenswood Tile Co.
1955    American Terra Cotta Co.
            Rippel Architectural Metals
            Hagerstrom Metalcraft Studio
            Hartman-Sanders Co.
            Woodwork Corp. of America