Design Excellence Awards 2022

To embrace and recognize all projects, teams, and budgets of all scales, we have restructured the awards format. This year, there will be one awards program, called the Design Excellence Awards, and it will encompass the previous Small Project Awards and Design Excellence Awards. These awards will be administered at DESIGNIGHT 2022.

CLICK HERE to submit to the Design Excellence Awards

rules and regulations for the design excellence awards.


Design Excellence Award Categories

SUBMISSIONS DUE FRIDAY, JUNE 03, 2022, at 11:55pm central

Enclosed projects where a minimum 50% of the enclosure is new/restored/replaced or civic infrastructure or plans at various scales.

  • Architecture XS (Extra Small) Max 2,500 SF
  • Architecture S (Small); Max 25,000 SF
  • Architecture M (Medium) Max 250,000 SF
  • Architecture L (Large) Max 1,000,000 SF
  • Architecture XL (Extra Large) 1,000,000+ SF

Interior Architecture
Includes projects with an existing enclosure, interior exhibits/installations, with minor exterior replacement/restoration/revision. Projects that are storefront or facade restoration only are also acceptable for this category.

  • Interior Architecture S (Small) Max 2,500 SF
  • Interior Architecture M (Medium) Max 10,000 SF
  • Interior Architecture L (Large) 10,000+ SF

Decarbonization Award
Firms have the option of also submitting their project for the new Decarbonization Award. To be considered for the Decarbonization Award, entrants must already be submitting a project in the Architecture or Interiors categories. No extra fee is required. This award requires additional information and data.

People's Choice Award
NEW this year, firms have the option of checking a box to include their submitted project for consideration in the new People’s Choice Award. Sponsored in partnership with the Chicago Architecture Center, this award is optional and will be judged separately by the public. Only projects submitted to the 2022 AIA Chicago Design Excellence Awards will be eligible. More details on this are forthcoming.

Roberta Feldman Architecture for Social Justice Award

Administered by the AIA Chicago Foundation

SUBMISSIONS DUE FRIDAY, JUNE 03, 2022, at 11:55pm central

The Roberta Feldman Architecture for Social Justice Award was established in 2020 to honor excellence in built projects and design programs guided by the conviction that access to high quality architecture is not a privilege, it is a human right.